ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Needing to buy a new laptop for Video Editing

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Aimes RuffoNeeding to buy a new laptop for Video Editing
by on Mar 7, 2016 at 12:47:18 pm

I am a video editor and I am needing a new laptop asap. I have been using a Thinkpad W520 for the last 4 - 5 years. It has 16gb ram, Quadro 2000M Graphics and i7-2920XM. I love my laptop but it really lacks in video playback especially while editing in Premiere Pro CC. It will not play the timeline smoothly especially when a bunch of effects have been applied. My budget for my next laptop is $4000 or less. Accidental damage protection is a big thing for me which is why I love Lenovo so much. I have been looking at the Thinkpad P50 and the P70. Couple of quick questions:

1. Is a 4k display worth getting on a 17 inch laptop

2. Is the Intel Core i7-6700HQ processor good enough or is it worth upgrading to the Intel Xeon E3-1505M v5

3. The big thing for me is the graphics card. I am worried that the NVIDIA Quadro M2000M 4GB will give me the same problem I am having currently. Is it worth getting the larger P70 and NVIDIA Quadro M3000M. I dont know too much about graphics cards, but I know both are CUDA compatible. It is crucial that this card will be powerful enough to playback 4k footage on a timeline flawlessly with effects applied. Should I try and avoid the quadro series all together and look for a computer with geforce card instead?

I would appreciate any help or suggestions you may have.

PS I would prefer a smaller 5.6 inch P50 size over the P70 but the M3000M only comes in the larger P70

Thanks

Return to posts index

Chris EvansRe: Needing to buy a new laptop for Video Editing
by on Mar 7, 2016 at 6:32:44 pm