ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Fulldome Video 4k workflow frustrations

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Orion McCawFulldome Video 4k workflow frustrations
by on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:05:43 am

Hey, I'm kinda new to Premiere. I spend most of my days cutting with Avid MC but I'm currently about to start a full dome planetarium production and I'll be using the Adobe suite to complete the project. I've done one fulldome show before on Premiere but we were super rushed and unfortunately I didn't get to do enough research before the project which, as you might assume, lead to lots of headaches during post.

the main problems I ran into were sluggish playback of the sequence and an export error "Error compiling movie. Unknown Error." Luckily the show was only being produced at 1200x1200 resolution (for those that don't know fulldome masters are in 1:1 aspect with a fisheye image in the center) so the playback issue wasn't a huge deal. The export error seemed to be totally inconsistent and after enough restarts and fails I eventually got my export to work.

This new show needs to be a 4k production (4096x4096) and so I would like to get these issues sorted before I get started. My computer specs are as follows:

OSX 10.11.1 (installed on 120gb SSD drive)
3.5gh intel i7
NVIDIA GTX 670 2048mb
32gb DDR3 Ram
3TB ST3000DM001 (internal drive for video/media)
Premiere Pro CC v9.1.0

most of the media I'll be dealing with will be in image sequences. PNG, Jpeg, Tiff, and bmp.