ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

Program monitor not sharp when not playing

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Duke SwedenProgram monitor not sharp when not playing
by on Jan 7, 2016 at 4:18:07 am

I don't know if this started after one of the two latest updates, but it's been a while and I'm just now remembering to ask here. I have the program monitor set to 1/4 quality but that really has nothing to do with it. Any better quality and playback is very choppy (I'm a total amateur and my work station reflects this status).

Anyway, I shoot with a flat profile that lowers the in camera sharpness, so my out of camera files are flat and soft. When I load a clip into the timeline, I can add unsharp mask and I can sharpen the image. However, the image in the program monitor will show the clip as it looks when playing at 1/4 quality for about a second, and then sort of snap back to unaltered look, even though the sharpening has taken effect.

This makes it hard to see how the sharpness looks unless I render the clip first, which is a pain. In short, when not playing, the clip has the original dull look, but when I play it I'm getting the 1/4 quality so I still don't know if I've sharpened the clip properly. All other video effects show whether the clip is playing or not (lower saturation, change tint, etc.)

Has anyone else come across this?

Return to posts index

Tero AhlforsRe: Program monitor not sharp when not playing
by on Jan 7, 2016 at 5:07:08 am

If you're trying to see how sharpening is affecting the picture you'll need to be looking that at full quality and 100% scale.

Return to posts index

Duke SwedenRe: Program monitor not sharp when not playing
by on Jan 7, 2016 at 1:37:54 pm