ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Premiere Pro lags while shuffling through clips

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris SuchorskyPremiere Pro lags while shuffling through clips
by on Nov 5, 2015 at 4:40:19 pm

I posted this on Adobe's site two days ago and no one has answered...

I've been using FCP for the last 16 years. I recently made the switch to Premiere because Apple decided to become a phone company and no longer cares about its pro users. I've had some real frustration with Premiere, but my biggest complaint is the lag issue. In FCP, you would transcode your footage to ProRes and work off those files. In Premiere, you can use the raw files you transferred from the card. I like this because it saves time transcoding, but it's useless if it take 50 times longer to sift through content. Here's the problem, if I import footage through Media Browser (MXF files / MTS Files) and then load a file in the Source window to view, it lags when I shuffle through it. You can not scrub through the content at a normal pace. You go back and forth scrubbing left to right and the image barely moves. There is no way to scrub through footage and look for content at a normal pace. I guessing it's this "link to the raw file issue." Why? Because I'm doing an online edit with Premiere. I originally imported footage in FCP7 and transcoded the footage into ProRes. I recently moved over to Premiere before I got to deep into the edit (feature-length doc). So I have the original ProRes files right next to the new clips I imported through Media Browser. In case this is confusing, I shot a clip of a man walking, I imported that clip in FCP7 as a ProRes clip, and then I imported the same clip from the original raw MTS file through Media Browser. So I have two versions of the same thing, a Pro Res clip and Premiere''s version of the clip. If I load a clip from the MTS file I logged in Premiere,