ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Working with different format videos.

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Cassandra HellbergWorking with different format videos.
by on Oct 12, 2015 at 8:45:16 pm

Hey there!
Firstly im new to creative cow, secondly im new to Premiere Pro CS6 and video editing. I have been reading some other posts, related to the same topic but im still a little confused as what to do. Im working on two different video formats. One was with a very shitty photo camera, and the other, a great video camera.
These are the formats:

Type: QuickTime Movie
File Size: 8,1 MB
Image Size: 640 x 480
Frame Rate: 30,00
Source Audio Format: 11024 Hz - 8 bit - Mono
Project Audio Format: 11025 Hz - 32 bit floating point - Mono
Total Duration: 00:00:07:00
Pixel Aspect Ratio: 1,0

Type: MPEG Movie
File Size: 648,0 MB
Image Size: 1920 x 1080
Frame Rate: 29,97
Total Duration: 00:03:46:10
Pixel Aspect Ratio: 1,0

Possible, to combine the two into one format? This video will be made for online use. possibly dvd too...
Thanks!!!
Cassandra

Return to posts index

Jon DoughtieRe: Working with different format videos.
by on Oct 12, 2015 at 9:22:45 pm

It looks like you have one standard def file and one high def file. So if you would like the material from both to fill the screen, you have two options.

1 - Make a standard def timeline based on the first clip. Scale down your second HD clip until it fits top-to-bottom in the composition. The left and right edges will be cut off, because the aspect ratio of your SD clip is 4:3, and your HD clip is 16:9.