ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

file transcode suggestions for lo res editing

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John Smithfile transcode suggestions for lo res editing
by on Oct 1, 2015 at 3:38:23 am

Hi all,

After many years, I have decided to abandon FCP 6 (never got 7 for personal use) as my primary editor and make a switch to PP (or maybe Avid if I really don't like PP - but I know AE reasonably well and I feel like staying in the Adobe family might help).

I am still learning the ins and outs of the PP (although I was proficient in FCP), and I was wondering what file format is generally used and/or preferred for offline work. My primary goal is space efficiency as I am doing the majority of my work on the newest Macbook Pro (2.8, 16 g ram, current Yosemite).

For context:

90% of my source footage is H.264 at 1080 (Canon 5D). I have several TB of footage (some is SD).

On my former laptop, I was using FCP 6 (I was really behind the times) so I would generally transcode to Apple Intermediate Codec at 50% (960x540) and this worked ok.

I'll probably transcode to, and edit with two or three small portable drives.

Also, I always did my transcodes though Apple Compressor. I'm assuming Media Encoder is the main transcoder for Premiere?

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Tero AhlforsRe: file transcode suggestions for lo res editing
by on Oct 1, 2015 at 4:08:42 am

Your machine should be good to go without any transcoding. Premiere has native support for pretty much every format.

Return to posts index

John SmithRe: file transcode suggestions for lo res editing
by on Oct 1, 2015 at 5:48:16 am

Thanks for responding. Yes, I'm impressed how well PP deals with file formats - editing an H.264 in FCP was pretty much impossible, for example.