ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Has anyone edited a feature length doc with Premiere Pro? how did it hold up?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul FactoraHas anyone edited a feature length doc with Premiere Pro? how did it hold up?
by on Sep 16, 2015 at 12:26:19 am

I'm starting on the post for a doc idea I've been shooting off & on for the past couple of years.

I'm an editor by trade and love editing on Premiere but am concerned about the stability when the massive amounts of media start rolling in.

Has anyone here accomplished a 80-90 min feature with Premier?

I have about 300 hrs of Media shot primarily from 5DMK2 & MK3.
About 1/3 of the footage was split up between a Cannon XA20, a Sony FS700, an interview on a C100 and one on a GH4. Oh and I have some Gopro footage too.

I have it all converted to ProRes422 HD on a 12TB OFW Thunderbay 5 RAID.

How was the media managment?

Pro's & Con's of Premiere vs FCP 7?

Any info is definitely appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul

Return to posts index

David Roth WeissRe: Has anyone edited a feature length doc with Premiere Pro? how did it hold up?
by on Sep 16, 2015 at 4:03:45 am

You'll be fine as long as you don't fill that RAID beyond 80% of its capacity. Transcoding to ProRes was a very good idea - once I saw that I had no problem giving you two thumbs up.

Good luck with the doco... Is it an oceanographic project?

David Roth Weiss
Director/Editor/Colorist & Workflow Consultant
David Weiss Productions
Los Angeles

David is a Creative COW contributing editor and a forum host of the Apple Final Cut Pro forum.

Return to posts index

Nils WelterRe: Has anyone edited a feature length doc with Premiere Pro? how did it hold up?
by on Sep 16, 2015 at 5:44:02 pm