ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Short film edit - PITFALLS

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Elias GwinnShort film edit - PITFALLS
by on Sep 15, 2015 at 12:04:35 am
Last Edited By Elias Gwinn on Sep 16, 2015 at 4:01:08 pm

Hi all,

My question is relatively general: what workflow/organizational/technical pitfalls I should avoid as I embark on editing my first short film?

The clips have already been imported and sync'd. Now it's time to start cutting the first assembly.

I want to dive right in, but I feel like I should first learn some general workflow wisdom for a scripted narrative so I don't make silly mistakes that I'll regret later (messing up the workflow / waste a bunch of time/work).

BTW, I'm (somewhat) familiar with video editing, although this is my first project on Premiere CC (was using FCP up until now). I'm not trained at all...basically self-taught. I've edited about 10 or so short 'docs' previously.

Let me know what other info I can provide to help this conversation.

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Elias GwinnRe: Short film edit - PITFALLS
by on Sep 26, 2015 at 11:48:08 pm

bump.

any wisdom you can share?

Return to posts index

Tim KolbRe: Short film edit - PITFALLS
by on Sep 27, 2015 at 3:03:33 pm

I guess I'd say that labeling and sorting can't be over-emphasized in a narrative piece...scene#s, take#s, etc. Any careful labeling you do now will help you spend more time editing than searching once you're in flow...

I'd say you want to consider using the nesting feature in PPro to create a separate sequence for each 'scene' (however you choose to employ that term).