ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

Additional hardware acceleration?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Anthony JamesAdditional hardware acceleration?
by on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:20:17 pm

Hello all. I'm fairly new to Premiere Pro CS6 and have been forced to turn to the program in order to improve my rendering speeds. I'm a Sony Vegas 13 native, and so I've been using Vegas' export feature to convert my project to a .prproj and then render it in Premiere Pro. The issue is that Vegas is unacceptably slow in rendering because it's not fully compatible with my GPU (nVidia GTX 750 Ti) with its current settings. PP, however, CAN tap into hardware acceleration and gives me a rendering speed 2x as fast as Vegas. However, I'm still finding the render speed to be slow overall.

Here are my current rendering settings:
http://i.imgur.com/A6Mk9xN.png

So, using H.264, I'm able to get the standard of quality I want. Upon setting "Use Maximum Render Quality" for the first time, I was given a message that I should enable PP's hardware acceleration option. I did so, and got the rendering speed I have now. The render time takes 3 seconds for every 1 second of video. Therefore a 20 minute video would take about an hour to render. That's not terrible, but it's still slow for my liking, especially compared with a couple of other video editing programs I tested out. One program in particular gave me a 1:4 render speed (1 second of render time for every 4 seconds of video) which was phenomenal. However, I couldn't edit with it effectively and with the same ease as Vegas. So I know it's possible to render a video with my settings and get a much faster rendering speed, I just don't know how or whether it's possible to do in Premiere Pro.

Any additional information needed about my computer is in my signature. Thank you very much.

Processor: INTEL I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ