ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Is There a Cleaner Way to Edit with Multiple Audio Tracks?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jake NiemeyerIs There a Cleaner Way to Edit with Multiple Audio Tracks?
by on Jul 20, 2015 at 9:40:23 pm

I'm an assistant editor on a handful of projects for an agency, where editors and creative directors have become upset with the multitude of tracks showing up in Premiere when we go to edit a project.

Most of our projects have been shot with RED Dragon or Arri AMIRA and dual-system sound. When sound is recorded, it's to Polyphonic WAV files, with a different channel for each audio source, but one file per take. This has been great, in that you only have to sync once and everything is ready to go. The heavy downside is that when we pull in our ProRes files into Premiere, we have six or more audio tracks attached to each clip. It very quickly gets out of hand.

Is there an easy way within Premiere (or by using Adobe Dynamic Link) to edit with less tracks, and reconnect to the original polyphonic tracks later? Our sound editor will still need everything in it's place when he goes to mix, but It would be great to have a clean timeline until that point.

We're a Mac environment using the 2015 release of Adobe CC.

Return to posts index

Oliver PetersRe: Is There a Cleaner Way to Edit with Multiple Audio Tracks?
by on Jul 21, 2015 at 1:04:18 am

[Jake Niemeyer] "Is there an easy way within Premiere (or by using Adobe Dynamic Link) to edit with less tracks, and reconnect to the original polyphonic tracks later? Our sound editor will still need everything in it's place when he goes to mix, but It would be great to have a clean timeline until that point."