ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

1080p input, but 720p ouput

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael Jansen1080p input, but 720p ouput
by on Jun 26, 2015 at 2:53:32 am

I am still a novice with Premiere, so please forgive my ignorance. I'm trying to create a little movie. My imported input files are all 1080p, and I successfully put together a little sequence with a sound track etc.

But when I get to the export settings, the source info says Source: Sequence, Sequence 01 720x480.
I'm not sure why this happens, because all my source images are 1080p (as listed under properties).

Is there some setting that I need to adjust, or is my initial files setup all wrong.

I'm getting a very grainy interlaced result at the moment.

premiere.jpg [x]

Return to posts index

Chris TompkinsRe: 1080p input, but 720p ouput
by on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:47:47 pm

Make sure your settings look like this pic:

Adjust frame rate accordingly.

Chris

Return to posts index

Michael JansenRe: 1080p input, but 720p ouput
by on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:26:16 pm

Thank you Chris, I will make sure to do that. Still trying to find my way around Premiere.

Return to posts index

Daniel WaldronRe: 1080p input, but 720p ouput
by on Jun 26, 2015 at 6:28:50 pm

It looks like your sequence settings are wrong. You are editing HD footage on a SD timeline. Make sure your sequence is set to 1920x1080.

Return to posts index

by on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:23:33 pm

Thanks for your reply! Yes it worked, I will know next time to start off with 1920x1080 setting. Still have much to learn...

Return to posts index

by on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:25:23 pm

An easy way to make sure your sequence matches your footage is to drag any clip onto the New Sequence button. This will automatically create a sequence with the same settings as the clip. You can then delete the clip and the sequence will retain its properties.