ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

two question concerning multicam in Premiere

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
alessandro sambinitwo question concerning multicam in Premiere
by on Apr 28, 2015 at 8:44:15 am

hi everyone, I am new to multicam.

I have 6 cameras, 6 movies h264.It is a sort of TV show that I have recorded two days ago and I am wondering: should I convert the footage into prores of some sort? Should I buy a thunderbolt external drive?

My computer seems to struggle with the material when I hit play and start multicam editing it. It rapidly drops frame till when it is just a still. My computer is the last mac mini with its fastest processor and I have 16 GB of RAM.

Still, my footage is in the internal drive, where Premiere also is. I was a FCP user and I know that editing should be done on an external HD but my question is: is it a problem of storage or of CPU? I do not want to buy an external HD just to find out that the problem was not the HD but the CPU itself that can not (and will not) handle 6 h264 cameras.

THANKS!

ps. its footage recorded with Canon 5Ds, so HD 1920 1080.

Have a nice day
Alex

Return to posts index

alessandro sambiniRe: two question concerning multicam in Premiere
by on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:08:51 am

I have just talked with a friend of mine. she edit with FCP and she says that (in her opinion) there is noot a huge difference between internal HD and external HD.

Moreover, she says that h264 is better as it is lighter than PRORES.

What do you think? I always imagined prores not being lighter but somehow "more understandable" by FCP. Wrong idea?

Thanks

Alex

Return to posts index

David Roth WeissRe: two question concerning multicam in Premiere
by on Apr 28, 2015 at 1:24:07 pm

Alex,