ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Extremely Long Render Times in Premier Pro CC 2014 - Please guide me!!

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alex Frizzell
Extremely Long Render Times in Premier Pro CC 2014 - Please guide me!!
on Apr 25, 2015 at 1:15:16 pm

Hello,

Let me start off by saying I am new to premier, forums, and video editing for the most part.

My content comes from (2) GoPro Hero 4 cameras set at 4k and a Sony FDR-AX100, also set at 4k.

MY PROBLEM (well hopefully the one you can help me with)

I import the content into Premier Pro CC 2014 (which is all up to date) applying color correction, fades, and titles. When I try to playback the files even with all effects turned off my computer will not do it. I need to first render preview files. So I select my in and out points and try to render but it takes, DAYS to complete. For example: A 3 minute selection on the timeline will take 70 hours to render the preview files. After it renders, I make a few more adjustments and let my computer render for a few more days.

I must be doing something wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

MY SETUP:

I use the Nvidia CUDA architecture as my playback engine in Premier.

Premier is installed on my internal drive. The footage & project files are kept on a WD VelociRaptor Thunderbolt Drive and my preview files are set to a second WD VelociRaptor Thunderbolt Drive.

My preferences are set to use up to 12 gigs of ram for Premier, leaving the other 20 for other applications. It is optimized for Memory. I have tried most all combinations of ram setting here with little luck. (again, I'm new and don't know what I'm doing.)

My Premier sequence is set to be 1080p & my sequence settings are set to a width & height of 960 x 540 with the program monitor set at 1/4 quality.