ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Timecode issues with time-of-day

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jon Meeker
Timecode issues with time-of-day
on Apr 3, 2015 at 1:17:57 am

Hi there.

So, as I understand it my workflow is nothing new to the industry, though I am. I'm an assistant editor for a small reality show production company.

I have recently started syncing clips by time of day timecode as any audio based syncing takes way longer to correct if things go wrong.

When I get new footage I am instructed to create stringouts, and then chronological timelines for that day based on the time code. So, I go to the beginning of the clips and set the timeline to the start time of the first clip. I then add a layer of transparent video to extend my timeline to the maximum. Then, I start double clicking clips, using their STARTING timecode as no one has touched the footage yet and no in and outs have been set. I then copy and paste that timecode into the timeline and insert the clip so they are all laid out chronologically. Then camera B and so on.

My issue is this: For some reason, I go back and check myself, and all the clips are off. To check myself, I just repeat the process and see if the playhead goes to the beginning of the clip. If correct, it should butt right up. The problem is it doesn't, like the clips have been moved or I had been using the wrong time code.

This happens on multiple sequences, and sometimes Ill check myself and they are in the correct position, then later on everything is off.

While I am new to the industry as a professional, I have been around this for years and I really cannot figure out what is going on.

I hope I was able to explain it fully and I do appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Jon

Return to posts index

Ht Davis
Re: Timecode issues with time-of-day
on Apr 3, 2015 at 2:07:40 am

They are not in sync out of the box.