ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

1GB Video is exporting at 40GB

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tommy McMahon1GB Video is exporting at 40GB
by on Apr 2, 2015 at 11:25:22 am

Hello CreativeCOW

I am new to Adobe CS6 hence my question.

I have a 10 minute video recorded on a Nikon D5100 DSLR Camera.

The video was captured at 1080p 25FPS and is about 1GB in size.

I imported the video into Adobe Premiere Pro and made my edits.

Now I want to export the finished video so I can upload it to YouTube.

However once I choose File > Export > Media and choose Export Settings > Match Sequence Settings to preserve my 1080p video, Adobe Pr CS6 exports it out at a whopping 40GB!!!

My ISP would have kittens if I tried to upload videos that were 40GB a go.

Can anyone tell me how I export a 1080p video that isn't 40 times larger than the original 1080p video.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Tommy.

Return to posts index

Eric StrandRe: 1GB Video is exporting at 40GB
by on Apr 2, 2015 at 2:23:22 pm

Hi Tommy, this all has to do with bitrate and codecs. Premiere exports your video at a higher bitrate than your DSLR recorded it at, hence the bigger file size.
Here are some video tutorials to help you get started:

How Codecs Work:
Understanding Exports:

@ericstrand11

Return to posts index

Ht DavisRe: 1GB Video is exporting at 40GB
by on Apr 3, 2015 at 9:04:15 am

DO NOT MATCH SEQUENCE SETTINGS... ...EVER... ...When going to YOUTUBE. It will match the video as it is rebuilt (bit rate etc, with little compression).

[Eric Strand] "Hi Tommy, this all has to do with bitrate and codecs. Premiere exports your video at a higher bitrate than your DSLR recorded it at, hence the bigger file size.
Here are some video tutorials to help you get started:

How Codecs Work:
Understanding Exports: "