ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Best Workflow for Sharing Timelines with Premiere Pro CC

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Elizabeth TheisBest Workflow for Sharing Timelines with Premiere Pro CC
by on Mar 2, 2015 at 5:30:32 pm

Hi folks,
I'm an assistant editor who has recently migrated from FCP to Premiere. I am working for an editor, and we will soon have two drives cloned for us each to work on.

We are wondering what the best workflow would be for sharing timelines. I will be marking up timelines for him to then cut from. Is there a way to import/export timelines, and if so, is this the most efficient plan?

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Mike JacksonRe: Best Workflow for Sharing Timelines with Premiere Pro CC
by on Mar 4, 2015 at 8:51:32 pm

I just finished up a feature and we did a lot of this, with the director and assistant editor both handing me bins and sequences that I would import.

You can use the Media Browser to dig into other project files, which I love. Just click on them and select the sequences and/or bins you want, and choose 'import'.

The tricky part is avoiding media duplication. We had the same system, with the three of us working off duplicate media drives. Sometimes when we imported a sequence it would recognize that the clips it linked to were already in the project, sometimes it didn't, and we'd start to bloat up with duplicates.

There's a solve, but you have to implement it from the start: In Preferences: Media, you can check 'Write XMP ID to files on import'. This will tag each piece of media with a unique ID, which Premiere can keep track of. Then it will always recognize duplicate clips.