ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Premiere Pro Hard Drive Network Question

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dan PullitPremiere Pro Hard Drive Network Question
by on Feb 19, 2015 at 5:23:38 am

Can somebody please give me a heads up and suggest a Premiere Pro based hard drive network?

I will be working with A LOT of footage. This project won't be raw but the next one will.

What would I be looking at in terms of setting up a hard drive network? How do people do it? Are network drives even an option?

I'm a newbie to this so any help configuring such a network is much appreciated.

Much appreciated...

Thank you

Return to posts index

walter biscardiRe: Premiere Pro Hard Drive Network Question
by on Feb 20, 2015 at 11:22:35 am

Sounds like you're talking about setting up a RAID. RAIDs are a group of drives usually in the same chassis. Up to 24 drives in a single chassis. There are a slew of options out depending on your system and your needs. Either a single user can be connected to the RAID or you can have the system networked to multiple systems.

In our case, we run a 48TB and 32TB RAID that are connected together in a 10Gig ethernet network with 26 connections. So 26 workstations can all connected to the 80TB of media storage. I also have a very simple 8TB RAID at home which is a chassis with four 2TB drives with FW800 and USB3 connectivity.

So the questions for you are, how much footage will you need to store? You want a RAID that holds at least 50% more than what you need to ensure you have enough room for graphics, audio, renders and overhead to maintain proper speed.

How do you need to connect this RAID to your system? Generally it's going to be SAS, Thunderbolt, FibreChannel or 10gig Ethernet these days.

Are you on Mac or PC?

How many computers need to connect to your system?