ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Jittery footage from DSLR - unable to solve

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Henrik Duncker
Jittery footage from DSLR - unable to solve
on Feb 3, 2015 at 9:11:47 pm

Hello. I am a photographer who ended up making a short film using Premiere. So, excuse me if I don't handle video terminology. In the making process I have struggled hard with jittery / choppy playback. I'm posting this to the Premiere Pro forum, as that is the app I've mainly used while looking for a cure.

The footage comes from a Nikon D800 (H.264 mov 720p 59,94fps). So far no software (Premiere, FCP, QT10, QT7, Media Composer) nor hardware is able to play back smoothly, but is randomly skipping (dropping) a frame or few. On each playback-round the errors happen in different places. The footage fully consists of slowly, smoothly rotating objects so random dropped frames spoils all the mood.

One more thing: to get the wanted smooth rotation I've shot at double frame rate and interpreted the clips to 50%. However, halving frame rate is not the cause:

To properly drill into the problem, I made a pendulum test (also H.264 from the Nikon) which fully eliminates man-made irregularities (of myself manually rotating the mentioned objects with a crankshaft). The issue also introduces itself with all camera fps settings (25, 50, 29,7 and 59,4 fps) and resolutions (720p and 1080p), no matter if the footage is reinterpreted 50% or not.

The pendulum footage was converted (both by Premiere and Media Encoder) to png sequences as well as to tiff sequences. Not a single one of the sequence frames is missing when observed frame-by-frame, yet Premiere nor any other software can play back smoothly. One would think that finally at this stage, when each frame is a separate image file, all potential frame rate or data rate issues or camera faults - would be left behind.