ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

16:9 video being treated as 4:3 by CS5

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Frazer Ash
16:9 video being treated as 4:3 by CS5
on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:37:36 pm

I'm relatively new to Premiere, though not a complete noob, but am having issues with how CS5 is interpreting a piece of footage I'm using. Any guidance would be HUGELY appreciated!

From the ground up: I have a 16:9 video I created in AE (square pixel, 1920x1080, .MOV). When I import it into Premiere and view it in the source window it displays correctly, however once it's dropped into the timeline, using it to define the sequence settings through the New Item tab, the preview window shows it as 4:3.

Alternatively, if I use a widescreen preset, then drop the footage onto the timeline, though the preview remains 16:9, the footage is automatically scaled up (though it still shows as a scale of 100% under motion effects) and becomes horribly pixelated. Scaling down doesn't help, and the playback resolution is set to full, so it's not that.

I've been round the houses trying to ascertain what's going on here but I'm drawing a total blank. Is it something I'm doing (most likely) or is Premiere messing with me?

Super huge massive thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Jeff Pulera
Re: 16:9 video being treated as 4:3 by CS5
on Jan 21, 2015 at 4:45:05 pm

In the Bin, right-click the clip (or Mac equivalent) and choose MODIFY > INTERPRET.

What does it say for specs? You can change the aspect ratio and such there to over-ride what Premiere thinks about the footage.

Thanks

Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers

Return to posts index

Frazer Ash
on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:01:11 pm

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for your response.