ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

thinking to buy a new 15 inch retina display macbook pro for video editing and compositing... is it worth for it?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Uygar Erdim
thinking to buy a new 15 inch retina display macbook pro for video editing and compositing... is it worth for it?
on Dec 21, 2014 at 6:04:30 am
Last Edited By Uygar Erdim on Dec 21, 2014 at 6:08:32 am

Hi... I am a freelance filmmaker. Now I have 2008 model mac pro and I am thinking to buy a new macbook pro 15 inch retina display. Do you think its worth for it? I aim to use the macbook mainly for video editing (premiere pro), after effects and photoshop. My current old mac pro has 12 GB and the graphics card is ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256 MB (Yes I still use it). My main question is, do you think its better to move to macbook pro or upgrading the old one? Making it 32 GB of RAM and buy a new NVIDIA cuda capable graphic card? I dont have enough budget to make it together... Want to hear your suggestions...

Return to posts index

Dennis Radeke
Re: thinking to buy a new 15 inch retina display macbook pro for video editing and compositing... is it worth for it?
on Dec 21, 2014 at 11:40:11 am

Tough call, as both have their merits. A lot depends on what your budget is and if you care about the portability of a laptop overly much.

If given only those two options, I would lean towards the new MBP as it is just fun to have new stuff and it will certainly feel as fast as your current mac pro. Definitely get the max RAM (16GB) I think.

One option you didn't mention that would be worth your consideration is a new iMac. They are sweet machines, can display 5k resolutions and have much of the power the current Mac Pro.

Dennis - Adobe guy

Return to posts index

Nelson May
Re: thinking to buy a new 15 inch retina display macbook pro for video editing and compositing... is it worth for it?