ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Newbie advice needed: proper presets/sequence settings for AVI files.

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Anne Thompson
Newbie advice needed: proper presets/sequence settings for AVI files.
on Dec 8, 2014 at 4:11:58 am

I am editing AVI files from an older flip camer (non-HD) in Premiere Pro CS5.5 This is my first time using premiere. I'm using an older mac. My final video will be viewed mostly online/YouTube and doesn't need to be cinema-quality, but should look professional.

When I open a new project, what settings should I use in my presets/sequences to match the AVI files. Right now I can play them, but when I add them to the timeline they become very choppy. From what I understand, AVI files don't need to be rendered in Premiere. So why are they choppy?

The AVI files I have are as follows:
640x480 bit rate 41845
Bit Rate: 3.28 Mbps
Video Tracks:
Xvid, 640 × 480, 30 fps, 3.10 Mbps
Audio Tracks:
MS ADPCM mono, 44.1 kHz, 177 kbps

Thank you very much for your help!!!

Return to posts index

Jon Doughtie
Re: Newbie advice needed: proper presets/sequence settings for AVI files.
on Dec 8, 2014 at 3:36:44 pm

HI there. Tell us more about the Mac you are using, including video card specifications, RAM, OS, etc. Also, your hard drive situation, where media is stored, etc.

Return to posts index

Anne Thompson
on Dec 9, 2014 at 4:49:22 am

That might be the problem, I am working on a older mac osx 10.6.8, 2.4 ghz core 2 duo, 4gb ram, no external hard drive, everything stored on the computer's drive. I know I need better equipment soon :) But is this the cause of my choppy playback or can I adjust my settings in premiere in some way to fix it?