ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

not rate stretch if effect?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andy Engelkemiernot rate stretch if effect?
by on Dec 2, 2014 at 3:42:24 pm

I have fast color corrector on a clip. If it is turned on, the rate stretch tool won't work on it. It shows the correct icon, as if it will work, but you click and it won't allow you to drag.

Then I turn off fast color corrector, and it works fine.

The same thing goes for if there is a dissolve, which makes a Little more sense, but still seems like a big pain in the rear.

Is there something I'm missing? I'm far from an expert.

Return to posts index

Michael KrupnickRe: not rate stretch if effect?
by on Dec 3, 2014 at 12:16:42 pm

Yes you are. Pr is telling you a clip under construction (like a change in frame number or length) is not ready for an effect. It's actually your mistake in workflow and the computer is warning you that you can't do it that way. 90% of "wot the hell?" moments are operator errors, not bugs. Software interaction means learning its way of speaking and listening carefully.

Return to posts index

Andy EngelkemierRe: not rate stretch if effect?
by on Dec 3, 2014 at 12:45:43 pm

How is PR telling me something? What am I missing? My point is, it's not showing me Anything. It's just not working.

And the funny thing is, sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't.
example: The clip i was talking about wouldn't work. I turned off the effect and I could rate stretch. I turned it back on and off a couple times to confirm.
I then went to a different clip for a minute, then came back. It then allowed me to rate stretch With the effect applied and turned on.

So what exactly am I doing wrong in my workflow?

Return to posts index

Andy EngelkemierRe: not rate stretch if effect?
by on Dec 4, 2014 at 1:52:10 pm

So I figured out the majority of the problem.