ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

How can I import or convert single MTS files into Premiere Pro

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Troy Smith
How can I import or convert single MTS files into Premiere Pro
on Oct 13, 2014 at 1:13:54 pm

I am a high school film teacher, and we use Panasonic HMC-40's for our new students that shoot AVCHD. Last year, we used Mac OS 10.7.5 and Final Cut Pro 7. We would hook the cam up and "log and transfer" just the clips we needed as ProRes422 into FCP. In that OS, I could open up the camera as a hard drive and see individual MTS files.

This year, we are using Premiere Pro and have new macs running OS 10.9.5. When I open up the camera as a hard drive on these macs, they no longer display MTS files, but one AVCHD file that represents all of the clips. Since more than one student uses these cameras on any given day, students either have to download the whole AVCHD file (with everyone else's clips on it, too) or open up the AVCHD file, play a clip in Quicktime, and then individually save each one.

I am looking for a cleaner simpler solution. Does Premiere have a way to "log and transfer" individual clips from the large AVCHD file? Can it convert to ProRes422 in a simple way? Sorry, I haven't worked on premiere in 15 years. FYI, it is not conducive to have the students upload and then delete their files after uploading for numerous logistical reasons. Thanks.

Troy Smith
Imminent Entertainment LLC
Education for the Arts
Vicksburg High School

Return to posts index

Daniel Tyukodi
Re: How can I import or convert single MTS files into Premiere Pro
on Oct 13, 2014 at 1:34:48 pm

Maybe the students should use a reference shot.ex: bars and tones functions in the camera so it would be easier to see the change of user.knowing the number of students using the camera you could just count the number of bars and tones to get to the wanted clips.