ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Best Export Options for a HD Youtube Video

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Patrick Haley
Best Export Options for a HD Youtube Video
on Jan 20, 2013 at 5:24:39 pm

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to the video editing world but started using Premiere Pro CS6 to create some videos for work. So far so good except I'm not sure what would be considered a best practice for rendering and exporting the video for a high-quality YouTube video. When I rendered my current project I chose the H.264 file format, with the YouTube 720p 25 frames/sec preset. However when the file is finished rendering and I play the file it looks choppy and does not play smoothly. Is there something I am overlooking in the export settings or could this be another issue altogether?

thanks.

Return to posts index

Jan Bauters
Re: Best Export Options for a HD Youtube Video
on Jan 20, 2013 at 6:44:26 pm

I always upload in the codec i'm working in (mostly ProRes 422HQ, or Uncompressed 8bit) and let YouTube do the conversion. The result is fine for me.
http://www.youtube.com/user/GreyJay

grtz Jan

Return to posts index

Sam Comer
on Jan 20, 2013 at 7:02:40 pm

Why 25 fps? Are you shooting in PAL? Or do you mean 25 mbs?

I find the optimal settings for youtube - high enough quality to look good, but not such a huge file as to take forever to load - are 720p, h.264, at 5mbs (5,000 kbs). This is pretty much what youtube recommends as well.

Return to posts index

Patrick Haley
on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:23:32 am