ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Windows "fixed" my PC - now I'm really screwed!

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dave Felder
Windows "fixed" my PC - now I'm really screwed!
on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:10:29 pm

Just had PPro CS5.5 crash while making an MPEG2 file. That's not a big deal, it happens occasionally. Windows 7 (New PC, just installed last week) gave me a message saying it's installed compatibility settings for me, to allow older programs to run with this current version of Windows.

Following the M$ error message, it tells me I need to adjust my Group policies if I want to turn off Compatibility settings. When I click on "Group Policies" it directs me to the Microsoft website for IT professionals.

I'm not an IT professional and I'm running the latest version of CS5.5 Production Premium with the latest version of Windows 7. Does anyone have any idea what just happened to my PC, and should I be concerned? And even better, how to turn off this Compatibility Setting? There's no reason why I should need to use it

Thanks.

Ryan Video Productions Inc. Rockaway, NJ

Return to posts index

Jim Wiseman
Re: Windows "fixed" my PC - now I'm really screwed!
on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:04:59 am

Welcome to Windows...

Jim Wiseman
Sony PMW-EX1,Pana AJ-D810 DVCPro, DVX-100, Nikon D7000, Final Cut Studio 2 and 3, Media 100 Suite 2.1, Premiere Pro 5.0 and 5.5, AJA ioHD, AJA Kona LHi, Avid MC, Hexacore MacPro 3.33 Ghz 24Gb RAM GTX-285 120GB SSD, Macbook Pro 17" 2011 2.2 Ghz Quadcore i7 8Gb SSD, G5 Quadcore PCIe

Return to posts index

Jim Wiseman
on Mar 21, 2012 at 7:21:59 am

Just hire an IT professional. Made their living on Windows for years.

Jim Wiseman