ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Reconnecting Media... A lot of it. Mass linking possible?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Evan Newman
Reconnecting Media... A lot of it. Mass linking possible?
on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:26:28 pm

I'm primarily a FCP editor, but am assistant editing on a Premiere Pro 5.5 project.

Workflow---This is not an online project. We have HD 1 - The main editorial and assistant editorial drive. I organize, she edits. Then, HD 2 - Purely a back up. To enhance the productivity of our workflow, since only one of us can be working at a time, I would like to use HD 2 for my work, then export EDLs, etc, for the editor.

Problem--- The backup drive throws all the media offline, since, I can only assume, the project files reference HD 1's information and folder name and structure. Everything is identical, but HD 2 throws everything offline.

My question.. Is there a way for me to connect everything at once like? There are hundreds and hundreds of clips and the 'one by one' window prompt I'm greeted with in relinking the media is a waste of time. Is there a function that, like in FCP, one can do a mass reconnect?

Thanks,

Evan

Return to posts index

Tom Daigon
Re: Reconnecting Media... A lot of it. Mass linking possible?
on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:40:28 pm

You are one of MANY professionals who in switching from FCP have bumped into this major problem with Premiere Pro. It does not have the same search and connect function that FCP has. I would suggest placing a feature request at this website...but dont do it today. The website is down.

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/mmform/index.cfm?name=wishform

Tom Daigon
Avid DS / PrP / After Effects Editor
http://www.hdshotsandcuts.com
Mac Pro 3,1
8 core
Nvidia Quadro 4000
24 gigs ram
Maxx Digita / Areca 8tb. raid
Kona 3

Return to posts index

Evan Newman
on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:51:08 pm