ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Same person more than once in video clip

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Amanda Clutson
Same person more than once in video clip
on Apr 2, 2008 at 1:04:42 pm

Hi, I'm very new at using Premiere Pro to edit short simple videos for my Fine Art degree. I want to make a short piece using the same person as two people sitting opposite each other, the camera is in a fixed position. How can I get the people to look real, all I have managed so far is to get two ghostly figures. I am using Premiere Pro CS3 V3 on a Mac Pro. I have looked through previous postings but cannot find anything, getting to grips with the language is a whole new world for me. Any help is very much appreciated.
Thanks, Amanda

Return to posts index

Jeff Brown
Re: Same person more than once in video clip
on Apr 2, 2008 at 2:45:03 pm

The easiest way:
Make sure your camera is _SECURELY_ mounted, and won't move. Not even when you press start/record/stop. Also, your lighting and exposure cannot change. At all.
Shoot the person on the right side of the screen. Then, shoot the person on the left. Use a mask to eliminate 1/2 of one shot. Lay this shot over the other. Putting a slight soft border on it typically helps. Done.

-jeff

Return to posts index

Jon Barrie
on Apr 2, 2008 at 8:28:54 pm

Another effect to use is the crop effect.
Keeping the camera locked with a tripod and don't switch it on and off between shots that might shift the camera just a little, ruining the perfectness of the match. Or get someone to do it for you touching only just hard enough to activate the camera.
Using crop you can then cut off the left, right side whichever you want with this cropped layer above the other.
The masking which is actually called a matte in PPro will work fine too. Any ability to soften the edges will also help blend the two shots as one.
- Jon