ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

1 minute video with only photos and titles is EXTREMELY EXTREMELY slow in a monster laptop

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Yiannis Botetsios
1 minute video with only photos and titles is EXTREMELY EXTREMELY slow in a monster laptop
on Aug 1, 2020 at 1:11:06 pm

Hi Community.
I am so surprised with that.
Sorry for so much info but I want to describe the problem cause it is really serious and can not find anything on the internet. 

I am not a pro in premiere pro but I have used it a lot. And that was the reason that I decided to buy a monster laptop to be able to edit like a human being with no crazy moments that we really want to throw the laptop from the window. I always experienced trouble with editing. My previous laptop which was strong enough (32 RAM) was striving. I decided to buy a monster. 

I bought an AERO GIGABYTE with 
- NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX™ 2080 Super with Max-Q Design 8 GB
-  64 GB Dual Channel DDR4 3200MHz System Memory (2 x 32 GB)
-  Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 2 TB M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4 NVMe 3D-VNAND SSD - Up to 3,500 MB/s Read - 3,300 MB/s Write  WHICH IS EMPTY
- Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 2TB M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4 NVMe 3D-VNAND SSD - Up to 3,500 MB/s Read-3,300 MB/s Write - WHICH IS EMPTY as well
- Intel® 10th Generation Comet Lake i9-10980HK 8 Core - 16 Thread Processor, 2.4 GHz (Max Turbo Frequency 5.3GHz), 16 MB Smart Cache
I have windows 10
and I use the premiere pro 2020, v14.01

I just bought the laptop, its really new. I was hoping that now I will not have at all the old slugs and lags and moreover my first video it had to be only with photos, music, titles and a small 4k video (1 sec), in total 1,17 minutes.

The effects I have used was only transitions effects (like the zoom blur transition) for:
- each titles that are 4k, in total 19 titles
- each photo (good quality from DSLR and less good from mobile) in total 57 photos