ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Multicam editing 3 cameras with several takes of each scene as separate clips

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Lewis
Multicam editing 3 cameras with several takes of each scene as separate clips
on Mar 31, 2020 at 1:20:53 pm

I am new to Adobe Premiere (many years on AVID and even FCP 7 "back in the day").

I have a project which contains a dramatic scene shot with 3 cameras and separate high quality audio. There are
SEVERAL takes of various parts of the scene, all recorded as separate clips (they are manually slated/sound clack).

In my Media Browser Window I now have folders for each camera (1,2, and 3). Each folder contains all the scenes
shot that day (other scene, irrelevant to this scene) including the separate takes for this scene. Thus, I have three
folders each containing separate clips for the various takes.

Here is what I'm trying to do:

1) Create a multi-cam sequence of the three cameras for each take (preferably on one time line).
2) Sync the separate master sound to these Multicam sequences.
3) Grade and edit each take so I have the "best" of each take.
4) Create a final edit of the sequence using the best cuts of the various takes (with the master sound).

As I say, I am a novice with Premiere Pro. Unless there is a better way, it appears I have to create a separate
New Bin for each take of the cameras and from there create the "Mulit-Camera Source Sequence". and then
edit each take from there. This looks lugubrious.

Is there a way where I can take ALL the takes (separate clips) from EACH camera and create this new Bin and
then create the Multi-Camera Source Sequence? I would sync the sources up via the audio. I would think
I could use the "All Cameras" option.

Then, unless there is a way of syncing up my separate audio recording of all the takes (one recording NON VIDEO