ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

How to export same quality as camera originals for vfx pulls?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nina Lucia
How to export same quality as camera originals for vfx pulls?
on Aug 24, 2019 at 7:11:35 am
Last Edited By Nina Lucia on Aug 24, 2019 at 8:18:31 am

I normally don't do vfx pulls, but on this project I am! I am also still new to Premiere having only cut this one film using it. I come from the land of Avid, so I'm not new to NLEs, but new to Premiere and pulling from camera originals. So this is really above my pay grade but we are not getting an online editor until we get vfx in in case of any tweaks that may need to be done when we get the final shots.

I'm using Premiere Pro CC 2018. I have the proxies offline to be certain I'm accessing the camera originals.

Here is the camera info:

Arri Alexa mini - anamorphic. Camera files are Prores 2.8k.

Below is info the DP sent:

When I get info from QT it says:
Apple Pro-Res 4444 XQ
2944 x 2160
1021 mbits/s
Quality Normal (3.0) **(don't know where I got this info, I don't see it in 'get info' for the QT now, nor the pixel aspect ratio!)
Pixel Aspect Ratio 2.0

Most search results on this are from at least two years ago, mostly several years more back than that.

I hoped I could just pick a Pro-Res setting that matched the camera but I don't see that. I don't see any "Same as Source" as Avid has either.
Okay, poking around some more and I see that after picking Quicktime as the Format, I can go down to the Video section and see more options than what are in the Presets. I see Pro-Res 4444, without the XQ (I don't know what the XQ signifies). I also see the DNxHR/DNxHD option there as well.