ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Where do you put the music when doing a 5.1 mix in Premiere?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
ryan elder
Where do you put the music when doing a 5.1 mix in Premiere?
on Jul 18, 2019 at 11:40:25 pm

What I mean is, I am doing a 5.1 mix for a project and it's my first time doing a 5.1. I understand the concept, about wherever you place the black dot in the audio mixer, is wherever the sound will be in the mix.

However, when it comes to the music tracks, where do you place the black dot for those? What speakers should the music come out of in a 5.1 mix?

Return to posts index

Peter Groom
Re: Where do you put the music when doing a 5.1 mix in Premiere?
on Jul 19, 2019 at 11:06:20 am

Music should go to front Left and Right.
Not Centre
Some / most mixers / I will send it to rear left and rear right via a reverb and often delay it by a few ms to create an immersive feel. (optional)
Lastly, if there is sub content in the music this would go the .1 channel via an eq plug to stop all but the sub element.
Peter

Post Production Dubbing Mixer

Return to posts index

ryan elder
on Jul 19, 2019 at 12:45:45 pm

Oh okay thanks. What do you mean by subcontent?

Return to posts index

Peter Groom
on Jul 19, 2019 at 1:23:19 pm

Content that is is the "sub bass area" so less than 100hz
Peter

Return to posts index

ryan elder
on Jul 19, 2019 at 11:44:23 pm

Oh okay, but the music is already recorded, so any instruments that are 100z, that are on there wouldn't be able to be put on that track now, unless I am misunderstanding?

Return to posts index

ryan elder
on Jul 20, 2019 at 4:02:48 am

I also want to ask, how do you direct certain audio to the .1 channel when the .1 channel is not in the audio mixer in Premiere Pro?

Return to posts index

Peter Groom
on Jul 20, 2019 at 10:38:00 am

Hi again.