ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Problem balancing audio (panning?) on 4 audio tracks

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Emily Aspland
Problem balancing audio (panning?) on 4 audio tracks
on Mar 17, 2019 at 4:55:59 am

I'm a mid-level editor and I'm not great with audio so bear with me...and please read until the end...

I'm trying to get the audio in my project to play evenly/balanced in both left and right channels. (N.B. the audio was given to me attached to the camera footage, there were no separate audio files at the Import stage, they just dropped on with the video when I created the timeline).

When dropped on timeline, audio appears on 4 tracks; A1-A4. Each track has obviously been allocated to a different person (there's 4 people speaking). Therefore, each track has a different volume for a different person because they're from each diff person's mic.

HOWEVER IN ADDITION TO THIS:

On each individual track the solo left channel and solo right channel for each track are at different levels (i.e. in my headphones, one side is louder than the other). This is the case if all four are unmuted or I mute three to isolate one to listen to/view the levels for.

I've tried going to Clip>Modify>Audio Channels to adjust the Clip Channel Format but everything is greyed out and defaulted to stereo so I can't change anything. I've tried looking at Audio Filters such as "Fill with left" "Fill with Right" "Balance" "Audio Volume" but (for example) when I drop "Balance" on one of the audio tracks and adjust the slider in Audio Effects NOTHING happens.

HELP! I can't seem to find a solution. I need all 4 tracks to be balanced individually and then ultimately together.

Return to posts index

Trevor Asquerthian
Re: Problem balancing audio (panning?) on 4 audio tracks
on Mar 17, 2019 at 1:23:30 pm