ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Premiere Pro - How work with source files from another location

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nigel Bennett
Premiere Pro - How work with source files from another location
on Nov 8, 2018 at 9:03:57 pm

Hi guys . Long time viewer, first time poster. Great site!

I have read up a bit on the internet but I have been busy and don't think I quite understand whatever was written.

I need advice. I have been editing "locally" for many years but now I am going into editing videos where the raw material is stored in a far off international location, ie the client's hard drive. What do I and the client have to do to get me the raw footage, which may be several files? How would a client send me a 10gb video file, for example? And what is the best way for me to send the final product over the internet? The project will be ongoing so an efficient work system is needed.

The bad news is that I currently don't have uncapped internet so I have to carefully consider my upload\download operation for the foreseeable future.

Thank you for your help.

Return to posts index

Jason Anderson
Re: Premiere Pro - How work with source files from another location
on Nov 9, 2018 at 2:14:30 am

Most of your clients are going to have a Dropbox or Google Drive.

With Dropbox you can have the client upload and share. You can sync only the files you need to your Dropbox desktop sync so you can limit the download bandwidth to only the files you need.

Return to posts index

Nigel Bennett
on Nov 9, 2018 at 2:28:45 am

Thanks Jason

How exactly does one sync Dropbox files with PP? Is it the same for Google Drive?

Appreciate!

Return to posts index

Blaise Douros
on Nov 9, 2018 at 4:55:50 pm