ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Zoom into image while keeping the same pillarbox ratio

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jamie Carsten
Zoom into image while keeping the same pillarbox ratio
on Aug 27, 2018 at 5:22:35 am

Hi there,

I’m new to Premiere Pro and I’m having a little difficulty with my first edit, which was supposed to be a simple slideshow!

Firstly, my photos are different aspect ratios (mostly a mix between iPhone portrait, square and landscape). I selected Scale to Frame Size, which has given me varying degrees of pillarboxing, which I’m comfortable with.

The problem is when I try to key frame zoom ins and outs, which I do using the Scale animation in Effect Controls. See middle clip in video here.

What I’d expect is the pillarboxing to stay the same. I.e. when I zoom in on the image. I don’t want the image to gradually eat into the pillarboxes. Wouldn’t standard behavior be if you zoom into or out of an image the aspect ratio and position of the image relative to the overall screen stays the same, i.e. the pillarboxing doesn’t get any more or less? Otherwise I’m going to have a video with black bars constantly increasing and decreasing.

Does anyone know how to overcome this?

Thanks a lot ☺
Jamie

Return to posts index

Tero Ahlfors
Re: Zoom into image while keeping the same pillarbox ratio
on Aug 27, 2018 at 6:30:27 am

Generate some black video, crop it/mask it from the middle and add it on the topmost track.

Return to posts index

Jamie Carsten
on Aug 27, 2018 at 8:23:11 pm

So there's no simple way to do this? ☹ I wanted to do a blurry background behind each image individually rather than the black. Would this be the same process? I'm not sure how to do any of what you've said. Would there be any tutorials that could help me?