FORUMS: list search recent posts

News: American Society of Cinematographers Awards: Top Honors for "1917", "Lighthouse", "Honeyland", and "The Handmaid's Tale"

COW Forums : People in the News

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Cow News Droid
News: American Society of Cinematographers Awards: Top Honors for "1917", "Lighthouse", "Honeyland", and "The Handmaid's Tale"
on Jan 29, 2020 at 6:59:34 pm

With the exception of Roger Deakins, all of the awards were handed out to first-time winners

(Los Angeles, CA--January 29, 2020) The Theatrical Award for best cinematography in a motion picture went to Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for “1917” at tonight’s 34thAmerican Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards. Jarin Blaschke took the Spotlight Award for “The Lighthouse,” and Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma won the inaugural Documentary Award for “Honeyland.” In the TV categories, winners included Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC for “The Handmaid’s Tale;” John Conroy, ISC for “The Terror: Infamy;” and C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC for “Project Blue Book.”

Roger Deakins, cinematographer for "1917", winner at the ASC Awards 2020
Roger Deakins, cinematographer for "1917", winner at the ASC Awards 2020

TCM’s Ben Mankiewicz hosted the awards gala, which was held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Below is the complete list of winners and nominees:

Theatrical Release Category – presented by Diane Lane
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC – “1917” -- WINNER
Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC – “Ford v Ferrari”
Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC – “The Irishman”
Robert Richardson, ASC – “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”
Lawrence Sher, ASC – “Joker”

Spotlight Award Category – presented by Bartosz Bielenia
Jarin Blaschke – “The Lighthouse” - WINNER
Natasha Braier, ASC, ADF – “Honey Boy”
Jasper Wolf, NSC – “Monos”

Documentary Category – presented by Todd Phillips
Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma – “Honeyland” - WINNER
Nicholas de Pencier – “Anthropocene: The Human Epoch”
Evangelia Kranioti – “Obscuro Barroco”

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television – presented by Emily Deschanel
David Luther – “Das Boot,” Gegen die Zeit (episode 6)
M. David Mullen, ASC – “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” Simone
Chris Seager, BSC – “Carnival Row,” Grieve No More
Brendan Steacy, CSC – “Titans,” Dick Grayson
Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC – “The Handmaid’s Tale,” Night - WINNER

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television – presented by Jane Lynch
Dana Gonzales, ASC – “Legion,” Chapter 20
C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC – “Project Blue Book,” The Flatwoods Monster - WINNER
Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC – “Legion,” Chapter 23
Peter Robertson, ISC – “Vikings,” Hell
David Stockton, ASC – “Gotham,” Ace Chemicals

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television – presented by Michael McKean
John Conroy, ISC – “The Terror: Infamy,” A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest - WINNER
P.J. Dillon, ISC – “The Rook,” Chapter 1
Chris Manley, ASC – “Doom Patrol,” pilot
Martin Ruhe, ASC – “Catch-22,” Episode 5
Craig Wrobleski, CSC – “The Twilight Zone,” Blurryman

With the exception of Deakins, all of the awards were handed out to first-time winners. Deakins collected the top honor last year for “Blade Runner 2049” and previously for “Skyfall,” “The Man Who Wasn’t There,” and “The Shawshank Redemption.”
Honorary awards were also presented, including:
  • The ASC Board of Governors Award was given to Werner Herzog by Paul Holdengräber, interviewer-curator-writer and executive director of the Onassis Foundation. The award recognizes Herzog’s significant and indelible contributions to cinema. It is the only ASC Award not given to a cinematographer and is reserved for filmmakers who have been champions of the visual art form.

  • The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Frederick Elmes, ASC by writer-director Lisa Cholodenko. The duo collaborated on the Emmy-winning “Olive Kittridge.”

  • The ASC Career Achievement in Television Award was handed out to Donald A. Morgan, ASC by actor Tim Allen. The two work together on the award-winning “Last Man Standing,” and previously collaborated on “Home Improvement.”

  • The International Award was bestowed upon Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC by writer-director Joel Coen. The duo has joined forces on several films, including the Oscar-nominated “Inside Llewyn Davis” and “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs.”

  • This year’s President’s Award went to Don McCuaig, ASC. It was given to him by longtime friend and actor-stuntman Mickey Gilbert.

  • The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction was given to Kim Snyder, president and CEO of Panavision. This award is presented to an ASC Associate Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion-picture industry.
For more information regarding the ASC Awards, visit the ASC website at

About the American Society of Cinematographers
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For additional information about the ASC, visit or join American Cinematographer on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram ( @the_asc) and (@american_cinematographer).]


Return to posts index

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
© 2020 All Rights Reserved