FORUMS: list search recent posts

eye replacement EFX (tracked eyes what's next?)

COW Forums : DaVinci Resolve

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
ron todd
eye replacement EFX (tracked eyes what's next?)
on Jan 7, 2017 at 6:53:08 pm

Hello forum,
This is my first ever post but what better place than here to get my questions answered. Im doing EFX on a music video and in one shot I'm attempting to replace the talents eyes with a clip of B+W hypnotic spiral for a cool effect. This is what I have done so far,in the edit area I layered the talent clip (transparency) and beneath it the spiral clip on the timeline. In the color area I created a serial node and placed a window for each eye and tracked..I then turned each window into a bezier window and shaped each window to the exact shape of the talents eyes....I scrubbed through the clip adjusting the shape until perfect and now here is the problem..I'm new to resolve so my logic was to turn the eye area to a transparency and zoom into the center of the pin wheel and paste the tracking data from the eye windows so that the pinwheel stayed center to the eyes. render out the clip and do it again for the second eye using the pasted tracking data...It's not working I cannot get the pinwheel to move with the windows and when I resize and make a window on the center of the wheel and paste the tracking data from the eyes it doesn't do a thing it stays on the same place...I'm fairly new to these types of effects and resolve as well... below is a picture of what I'm trying to achieve from a music video with the exact same effect

Return to posts index

Glenn Sakatch
Re: eye replacement EFX (tracked eyes what's next?)
on Jan 8, 2017 at 5:14:54 pm

My advice would be to learn about fusion.
Yes resolve has some compositing capabilities, but that is not what it is built for.
Can this be done in resolve? I would assume so, but again, not as intuitive for it.