FORUMS: list search recent posts

Conforming to 5K

COW Forums : DaVinci Resolve

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John Sniadecki
Conforming to 5K
on Dec 29, 2016 at 3:41:18 pm

Hi All

I'm an infrequent but grateful user of Creative Cow and need help with a conform. And I'm new to Davinci; nonetheless, we are actually editing a very simple 90 minute feature in Davinci Resolve Lite and want to conform the project for color correction at a post house that will be using Davinci Resolve Studio. The original footage is 5K scans of Super 16mm film (delivered to us as .mov files). We are editing in a 1920x1080 timeline, and I need to bring the project back to the 5K original, i.e. I need to deliver a conformed Davinci Resolve Project with a 5K timeline that can open with all the media linked to the original 5K .mov files. Is this possible with Davinci Resolve Lite? And if so, how do we do that? I hope it is fairly simple, as that was one of the main reasons for editing in Davinci!

I am using a Mac Pro (2.7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5 with an AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB Graphics Card).

Thanks very much for your help!

Best,

jp

Return to posts index

Simon Ubsdell
Re: Conforming to 5K
on Dec 29, 2016 at 4:41:53 pm

I'll let someone more capable talk you through the process of relinking to your 5K source (and yes, it is perfectly possible to execute this workflow with the free version of Resolve), but I did want to point out something about your process.

Super 16mm has approximately the same "pixel resolution" as 2K (or slightly less), so your decision to scan to 5K seems like massive overkill.

Was there a specific reason you went that route?

The reality is that you could probably master from your 1080 project with literally no discernible loss of quality ...

http://www.cinematography.com/index.php?showtopic=14944

Simon Ubsdell
tokyo productions
hawaiki

Return to posts index

Chris Wright
on Dec 29, 2016 at 10:03:54 pm