FORUMS: list search recent posts

Length of Transitions

COW Forums : DaVinci Resolve

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Todd Brown
Length of Transitions
on Dec 11, 2016 at 5:14:32 pm

Hello

Newby to Davinci Resolve and I have an issue with the Duration lengths of the Video Transitions.

I have a video project with 4 videos, 10 minutes each in one timeline. I want to add a 10 second duration Cross Dissolve Video Transition between each video. I can add the first 2 Video Transitions with a 10 second duration no problem but when I add the third, the duration time length is only 1.1 seconds and I cannot make it longer. Why is this?

This time limit happens with any of the other transitions also. All the properties of the of the video transitions duration's is the same. I do not have this issue with the audio transitions.

I am new to Davinci Resolve so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Todd

Return to posts index

Simon Ubsdell
Re: Length of Transitions
on Dec 11, 2016 at 5:27:51 pm

Are you sure there is enough media on both sides to create the transition?

Simon Ubsdell
tokyo productions
hawaiki

Return to posts index

Todd Brown
on Dec 11, 2016 at 5:37:36 pm

Thanks for replying.

Each video is 10 minutes long and all the videos are the same length. The first 2 transitions I can make 10 seconds long no problem, it is always the last transition. I even removed the first 2 and I still cannot extend the time length.

Todd

Return to posts index

Simon Ubsdell
on Dec 11, 2016 at 5:41:29 pm

What I meant is that this normally occurs because there is not enough overlapping material to create the transition.

If you want to 10 second dissolve between two clips, you need at least 5 seconds extra on the end of the outgoing clip and at least 5 seconds extra on the front of the incoming clip. Its sounds as though one of your clips doesn't meet these criteria.

The other possibility is that you are using nests?

Simon Ubsdell
tokyo productions
hawaiki