FORUMS: list search recent posts

RAID setup for 4k editing- Advice sought!

COW Forums : Art of the Edit

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Varun Trikha
RAID setup for 4k editing- Advice sought!
on Jul 27, 2019 at 8:31:19 am

Hello,

Can the kind editing porofessionals help me out with their valuable feedback and advice here, please.

I have been working on a documentary as a director for 5 years and now we are entering the editing stage. The total footage is around 9 tb, mostly 4k. I'll use FCP X for the edit. I have three 3tb USB-3 Lacie hard drives (these ones- https://www.amazon.in/LaCie-FireWire800-External-301549U-Aluminum/dp/B0050S.... So total 9 tb. I am wondering if I somehow get all my footage on these three drives and buy one G-Tech G-RAID 12 tb drive as an edit drive (this one-https://www.amazon.in/dp/B07DLGRGZS/?coliid=I1P3IPHV1LOTJ4&colid=XCUN8EK2HE..., does it sound like a good setup? I have never used RAID before, so I'm totally clueless. Can you please help me out. I have the following doubts to start with- 1) G-Tech supports thunderbolt but my Lacie drives are not thunderbolt drives (where I will have all my footage during editing), I am wondering if this will have a big impact on the speed etc ? 2) My iMac supports Thunderbolt 2, so I guess with an adapter I can connect it to the thunderbolt-3 G-tech drive. Should be ok, right? 3) Though I have four USB slots on my 2014 iMac, I believe it will be easier to get the four drives daisy chained?- Again something that I have never done before but I guess it shouldn't be too complicated.

The big Raid systems are quite expensive. If I buy it, it will go straight from my pocket. So I'm wondering if the above setup will work out just fine and is not a cheap hack which will eventually make life more difficult. Hoping to hear from you, kind people!

Thank you.

Warmly,
Varun Trikha

Return to posts index

Robert Withers
Re: RAID setup for 4k editing- Advice sought!