FORUMS: list search recent posts

Linked styles, swatches, libraries - how?

COW Forums : Adobe Illustrator

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nekto Nektovich
Linked styles, swatches, libraries - how?
on Feb 15, 2017 at 8:37:39 am

Hi! I design websites and interfaces in AI. The problem is that I want to manage one set of styles and colors over several AI files.

Of course I can just draw everything inside one AI file, but I need much more room and artboards than Illustrator provides, and I don't want to hide excessive material in layers.

So the problem is really simple but seems impossible to solve: I want character & paragraph styles, swatches, symbols and whatever to be linked to a separate AI (or other format) file. Keyword here is linked, so when I modify those linked libraries the changes of styles and colors would apply to every design that has those linked libraries.

Of course I can just write my own script, or plugin, or application... But I'm not a programmer. Does anyone know - are the solutions of such problem out there?

Thank you!

Return to posts index

Vincent Rosati
Re: Linked styles, swatches, libraries - how?
on Feb 16, 2017 at 7:53:05 pm

Sounds like you'd need to maintain an Illustrator template file, though this wouldn't work like a linked file, as you need. The template is essentially just a regular AI file, except it loads from the templates folder. So, previously created files wouldn't update.

If you just need to globally update colors, you could File > Place a TIF, AI, EPS, or whatever, but I don't know of a good way to handle type styles.
That might be more suited to a InDesign project.

From a programmatic sense, you'd have to be able to essentially create classed text objects - A H1 text object, and a blockquote text object, etc.
This seems like it would be out of scope for Illustrator.