MAGIX VEGAS: MAGIX Vegas Tutorials MAGIX Vegas Forum Articles Black Magic Design Forum AJA Xena Forum

The many instances where my Vegas 12 Pro crashes.

COW Forums : MAGIX Vegas

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Will Kee
The many instances where my Vegas 12 Pro crashes.
on May 25, 2014 at 11:43:45 am

I've been using Vegas 12 for many years and I mostly find myself editing native R3D footage at resolutions between 2K - 5K.

For me, Vegas 12 frequently crashes when:

A) Opening projects. the project will start opening but will hold at, say, 8%. Then if I click anywhere on the screen I get the standard 'not responding' notification. The clips on my timeline remain in a 'building peaks' state. For most projects, I have to open and force quit about 5 times before the project sorts itself out. There has been instances where my project has frozen on start-up about 15 times before randomly deciding to work. Apparently no rhyme or reason. No corrupt files. This has been happening for about 3 years, on all firmwares, and I'm sick of it.

B) Recently, Vegas freezes when I copy and paste a clip from one part of my timeline to another.

C) If I hit Control-Z to undo a cut for example, 50% of the time my project freezes and requires a force quit.

Almost every time I experience a freeze-up, no matter how long I let it sort itself out (Ive left things buffer for 24 hours in the past), I eventually have to force quit.

I'm editing on a PC with a GTX650, 16GB ram, i3770K processor, fast RAID, Vegas Pro 12 [build 770].

Return to posts index

Steve Rhoden
Re: The many instances where my Vegas 12 Pro crashes.
on May 25, 2014 at 12:40:46 pm

No, No, Something else on your computer is causing you this debacle Will.
Its hard for me to be specific from my point of view and the info you gave.

Steve Rhoden
(Cow Leader)
Film Editor & Compositor.
Filmex Creative Media.
http://www.facebook.com/FilmexCreativeMedia
1-876-461-9019

Return to posts index

Stephen Mann