MAGIX VEGAS: MAGIX Vegas Tutorials MAGIX Vegas Forum Articles Black Magic Design Forum AJA Xena Forum

How to change timeline increments??

COW Forums : VEGAS Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gary Colon
How to change timeline increments??
on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:45:45 am

Hello all. I'm new to Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 11 and also to CreativeCOW.

Im coming from using Apple and Final Cut Pro.

Here is my problem:

I have 2 cameras and 1 field recorder (audio). When I start recording, I use a clapperboard and use that as my marker for when I'm editing. So when I drop my videos and audio on the timeline, I line them all up by using the clapperboard sound as my reference point. I zoom into the audio portion, find exactly where the clapperboard makes the clapping now and I set the timeline marker right at the beginning and cut away everything to the left (before the noise) and then drag the clips all the way over to the left and start there so that all my videos and audios are in sync.

In Final Cut Pro I could put the timeline marker near the starting point and just use my right arrow key to move the marker over until I was where I needed to be. In Vegas, the increments are too big. Lets say my clapperboard sound starts somewhere in between 5 seconds and 6 seconds, if my marker is on 5 and I move over it goes to 6 seconds. I cant get in between to where the noise begins. If I zoom in I believe its actually in the milliseconds range really, but even then the increments are just too large for me to get to the starting point so that I can cut away and sync with the rest.

1) how do I get smaller increments so that I can precisely cut away what I need?