MAGIX VEGAS: MAGIX Vegas Tutorials MAGIX Vegas Forum Articles Black Magic Design Forum AJA Xena Forum

Vegas Pro 17 pixels are stretched when cropped

COW Forums : VEGAS Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Fabien Ford
Vegas Pro 17 pixels are stretched when cropped
on Jan 8, 2020 at 6:24:41 pm

The problem I am having is a little difficult to explain, mainly because I am not very experienced with video editing/pixels and the terminology.

I have lossless footage of a low resolution/pixelated game (1920 1080). I am trying to crop the video so that a small portion of what was recorded fills the frame, and that works; However the pixels seem to be stretched out at times.

On top of that, I am also trying to place another video of the game over the first video, so that they line up perfectly. Unfortunately I can't get that to work, as one video will be 'stretched' more than the other.
I am not sure if that completely explains the problem, but hopefully the image I attached of Vegas Pro 17 will show you what I mean.

I was wondering if there is a way to use Event Pan/Crop so that when I crop the video, the pixels fit the screen like they normally would, as if it were not cropped.
For example, in the image where there is a red arrow pointing to the left, you can see that the borders of the crop are able to sit in the middle of pixels, as oppose to the borders automatically 'snapping' into place between pixels.

I have tried unchecking 'Maintain Aspect Ratio' on everything, and that doesn't really work. There have been one or two times where I got lucky and both videos looked the same, and fit on top of each other just fine.
I should also add that this problem still occurs when I place two 1920x1080 PNG images on top of each other and crop them.

Is there any way to fix this?

The borders of Pan/Crop do not snap into place between pixels:

In this screenshot of GIMP, you can see what I am trying to accomplish:

Return to posts index

Francois Pénzes