MAGIX VEGAS: MAGIX Vegas Tutorials MAGIX Vegas Forum Articles Black Magic Design Forum AJA Xena Forum

Rendering 4k clips to a 1080 movie?

COW Forums : VEGAS Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Leszek Kozieł
Rendering 4k clips to a 1080 movie?
on Jun 17, 2019 at 2:21:05 pm

Hello all, I am new in the editing thingy.
Im using Sony Vegas 11 and i have few questions. Correct me if im thinking wrong.

I want to make a short movie from my holidays, last time I was using only a camera that recorded in 1080 60 fps. But now im also using phone that can record in 4k 60 fps. Im wondering how to use both the 4k and 1080 footage.
I understand that If I use a 4k clip, then i can edit it more (like zooming in without loosing quality).
When I open Vegas Pro how should my project properties look like? Should they be set for 4096 × 3112, or for 1920 × 1080? After im done with editing I want to render it for a Full HD 1920 × 1080.
What about other settings? Like render quality, bit rate etc. Im completly green in this.

Thank you all for the replies and sorry for my bad english :)

Return to posts index

Francois Pénzes
Re: Rendering 4k clips to a 1080 movie?
on Jun 17, 2019 at 7:15:00 pm

Hi Leszek

First you have to make sure that the clips from your phone are of a constant bit rate, not variable. Vegas doesn't like variable bit rates.

What I would do is if you have to zoom in on your 4 K clips is to work on those first, do your thing and then when you're done, render to the same format as your clips in 1080, open a new project, import your rendered clip, add your 1080 clips and then use Match Project Settings in Render. Depending on the final use of your video. render accordingly (examp: DVD=Mpeg2)

Cheers !

PC Win 10 Pro 64-bit 16gb Intel® Core™i7-2600k Quad Core 3.40GHz
Cameras: Canon XF305 + Canon XH-A1
Blackmagic HyperDeck Studio Mini
Vegas Pro 16, User since Vegas 3.0

''When the cutting stops, the editing begins...''

Return to posts index