MAGIX VEGAS: MAGIX Vegas Tutorials MAGIX Vegas Forum Articles Black Magic Design Forum AJA Xena Forum

Rendered video darker than preview

COW Forums : VEGAS Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
ryan hood
Rendered video darker than preview
on Feb 19, 2019 at 12:09:00 am
Last Edited By ryan hood on Feb 19, 2019 at 12:12:45 am

Hello everyone.

So I've been working for a few months on a project and now that it's time to render it I've come across an issue that I've had in the past.

Simply put:

- The preview of the video is fine in sony vegas, but when I render it and play it back everything is a lot darker.
- It is darker in both VLC and other players

In the past I've resorted to applying a 'VEGAS levels' effect to the entire video and choosing 'computer RBG to studio RBG' I really would prefer not to do that as that makes the video lighter than I intended when it's on Youtube.

Throughout the years I've bypassed this by changing my VLC settings and fiddling around with stuff like YUV > RGB conversions and things like that, but I honestly don't know what I'm doing in that regard.

I'm thinking about testing out different 'colour spaces' , which is something I recently found in the rendering settings. Since I've had sony vegas I believe I've had it on 'default' but in the drop down menu I see a lot of options including things like 'ACES' and 'ACES RRT (sRGB)' which I have hope for if my assumption that that means studio RGB.

In case it helps, my current pixel format is 8-bit and my compositing gamma is 2.222 (video)

I would really appreciate some words of wisdom of how I can render the same brightness as is in the sony vegas preview.

Thanks very much.

Return to posts index

Ole Kristiansen
Re: Rendered video darker than preview
on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:15:36 am

Hi Ryan !

read this

https://forums.creativecow.net/docs/forums/post.php?forumid=24&postid=94208...

Return to posts index

ryan hood
on Feb 19, 2019 at 11:50:07 am