ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Using a CSV with time information to determine layer and comp timings

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Perry Sheppard
Using a CSV with time information to determine layer and comp timings
on Jul 10, 2020 at 3:40:27 am

I'm new to expressions (and coding), but have worked through controlling alignment, parented font styles, linking csv data dynamically using the comp name as the variable, expression controls and a number of other simple things with master controls, but I'm beginning to think I have a fundamental misunderstanding of a couple of key elements, so my apologies if this is super basic.

I've set up an excel spreadsheet where my team can enter textual content for 'text-style' animations for social media (the simple square videos that are primarily text with some images or video in the background). There are three text boxes in each excel row that are used as three separate text layers in an AE comp. Each row of text is a separate 'slide' (a comp in AE). The excel sheet is set up to automatically calculate the timings for the slide in and out points, as well as for each text layer based on standard reading rates as well as generate a caption file for accessibility.

My goal is to create a mogrt for Premiere to simplify my team's creation process. My team would use the excel file to enter their text, which would generate a csv for the mogrt in Premiere, as well as export a timed caption file. The audio and background video/images would be handled in Premiere (I'll look into scripting that as my next step).