ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Is it possible to make a Infinite text box?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lucas Pereira
Is it possible to make a Infinite text box?
on Oct 31, 2019 at 12:57:05 pm

Hi! I'm a art director, and I'm very new to the expressions world, but I'm currently working with creation of after effects templates. I stumbled on a design problem, that is the amount of text a person can fill in a text box. Sometimes the textbox cuts the sentences because it doesn't fit the clients text.

However, I need to keep the design, so I can't just make a bigger textbox. Is it possible to make a textbox that decreases the font size accordingly to the text length? So the client can fill it with whatever text he/she wants? I tried a lot of expressions I've seen online but none worked for me.

Thanks.

Return to posts index

Andrei Popa
Re: Is it possible to make a Infinite text box?
on Nov 2, 2019 at 7:23:10 am

You can't do that with textboxes. Expressions can't change font size or textBox bounds.

Some workaround would be to make your text a textPoint paragraph and the client would have to insert the newlines, since the textPoint does not break the text.

Then you could add an expression to the size, so this layer decreases when there is more text.

Andrei
My Envato portfolio.

Return to posts index

Lucas Pereira
on Nov 4, 2019 at 12:25:42 pm

I've never used textPoint before. Our clients fill kind of a form with the texts they want and the platform translates that to AE. Would that way work with textPoint?

Return to posts index

Tomas Bumbulevičius
on Nov 2, 2019 at 9:02:25 am

Hey Lucas, it really depends on the amount of text in a placeholder you/client needs to fit in.