ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Camera movement controlled by length of word

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alex Jones
Camera movement controlled by length of word
on Apr 24, 2019 at 4:17:19 pm

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to expressions within AE, and I'm attempting to control the movement of the comp camera based on the length of words in a pre-comp.

What I really need is an expression that will play a given number of frames at a layer marker, based on the length of string 1 ("text"), and will then move to the next marker and play a given number of frames based on the length of string 2 ("goes") etc.

I've attempted to use this code...and it almost worked, but also really didn't, and only used one of the layers of text.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

n = marker.numKeys;
l = comp("Text for layer").layer("text").text.sourceText.length;
if (n > 0){
f = timeToFrames(time/(l*10));
idx = Math.min(f + 1, n);
marker.key(idx).time
}else{
value
}

Return to posts index

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Re: Camera movement controlled by length of word
on Apr 27, 2019 at 10:38:51 am

A whole bunch of questions about your setup:

- Are you applying the expression to time remapping?

- How does the camera know where to go? Do you also have keyframes for camera position?

- What is the purpose of the markers? I don't see what they are needed for, since they're not controlling the timing of the animation. Are they there to show where the keyframes are?

- Are you looking at having easing between the positions?

- Why not move the words rather than the camera?

- Can this not be done as a 2D comp?

- Does the camera need to move closer and further away from the word based on length?

etc. etc.

Perhaps a couple of screenshots showing what you currently have and what you are trying to accomplish...?

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Senior Graphic Designer

Return to posts index