ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Adding multiple values from Sound Keys in an expression.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael West
Adding multiple values from Sound Keys in an expression.
on Apr 11, 2019 at 6:12:44 pm

I'm fairly new at using After Effects, and very new at using Trapcode, so please bear that in mind.

I'm following a tutorial where I'm applying Trapcode sound keys to a song, with which I would like to animate a simple object.

I've created 3 ranges in Sound Keys, and applied them to the song. The values then show up in the 'Output' of ranges 1, 2 and 3.

Then, I created a solid layer and added an expression to the position. Within this I want to add all three value from the 'Outputs' from Sound Keys.

So I open the expression dialogue box and type 'a =' and then drag the pickwhip down to Output 1 on my Sound Keys layer. When I do this, it replaces my 'a =' and writes 'temp = thisComp.layer("Sound Keys").effect("Sound Keys")("Output 1");
[temp, temp]'

I have tried deleting '[temp]' and replacing it with 'a', and I have tried leaving it as it is, but either way, when I drag the pickwhip down from the next line to 'Output 2', it replaces the original text with the same as above, but with the value of Output 2.

I cannot seem to add more than one value to the expression. I have tried writing it out manually, but this does not work either. It produces an error message.

In the video I watched, it was a simple as writing 'a = ' and then dragging the pickwhip to the desired value, one after another, and this then allowed other calculations to occur after.

What am I doing wrong here?

Thanks so much for any possible help you can give.

temp = thisComp.layer("Sound Keys").effect("Sound Keys")("Output 1");
[temp, temp]

Return to posts index

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Re: Adding multiple values from Sound Keys in an expression.