ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Get the actual position a component in a child comp has in the parent comp and use it in another child comp to follow the movement and rotation

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects Expressions

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jonas Millgård
Get the actual position a component in a child comp has in the parent comp and use it in another child comp to follow the movement and rotation
on Apr 7, 2019 at 12:59:45 pm

I'm fairly new to expressions and I’m trying to wrap my how to solve the following and your ideas and suggestions are most welcome as I feel a bit stuck of how to continue.

So, the storyboard start a circle which contain another two circles. To the large circle one end of two lines are connected. The whole object is moving and rotating.

As the camera zoom out more of these objects are revealed and they are connected to each other with the lines with their movements and roatation.

And finally it’s revealed that the objects are a part of a bigger connected world.

My idea was to create a container comp containing the elements of each objects i.e. circles and lines (beamer effect).
Then I could duplicate the container comp as many times as I needed and have them all in a parent comp.

- Intro Comp
- Obj container 01

- Main BG circle

- Inner circle #1

- Inner circle #2

- Line #1

- Line #2

- Obj container 02

- Main BG circle

- Inner circle #1

- Inner circle #2

- Line #1

- Line #2

- Obj container 03

The thing I got stuck on is how to connect e.g. the end of “Line #1” in “Obj Container 01” to center of “Inner circle #1” in “Obj container 02”.
What I don’t understand is how to address the actual center position of the “Inner circle” in “Obj container 02” that it has in “Intro Comp” and use that to connect end of “Line #1” in “Obj Container 01” So that end of the line would follow the movement and rotaion of "Inner circle #1" in "Obj container 02.